BOE Standing Committee
The following are standing committees of the BOE, expected to make regular reports to the BOE as a whole.  Meetings will be posted and will be open to the public.  Standing committees meet on an individual basis.  Each committee may elect a secretary.  The chairperson will serve as secretary if none is elected.  The committee chairperson will be responsible for calling meetings, setting agendas, and moving committee work forward.  The committee secretary will write up brief minutes and post in a timely manner consistent with FOI requirements.  The Board Chair, with the approval of the Board, may also appoint additional standing committees as may be needed.

  1. Financial Responsibilities
           a)  Review monthly line item expenditure report from the BOE Business Director;
           b)  Review all budget transfers between line items and, when required, make recommendations for such transfers;
           c)  Review financial reporting mechanisms and yearly budget documentation for clarity and content and present and recommendations;
           d)  Review contracts prior to recommendation to the Board;
           e)  Review reports from contracted services (e.g., transportation ridership records) as needed.  

       2.  CIP/Facilities Responsibilities

          a)  Review capital expenditures and proposals for the Town's five year capital improvement plan (CIP) in accordance with the CIP
                regulation timeline;
          b)  Review quarterly, building and maintenance needs with the Building and Grounds Facility Director;


  1.  Work with the Superintendent and the Board to communicate effectively with the education community and the community as whole about school matters
  2.  Produce fact-based newsletters and documents as directed by the Board


  1.  Develop a consistent body of expertise regarding union contract negotiations at the Board level.
  2.  Committee members will split specific union negotiations among themselves, and members should reflect a variety of skills and  length on the Board   Additional Board members may be assigned by the Board Chair to fill out representation for specific negotiations.


  1. Ensure that the direction of the curriculum reflects the Board of Education mission, beliefs and objectives at both the course-specific and K-12 vertical alignment level.
  2. Meet with administration and staff to review goals, curriculum updates, new textbooks, proposed or changed courses and programs and make recommendations regarding these items.


  1. Review and propose revisions to Board policies as needed to ensure consistency with the District mission statement, best practices and for compliance with state and federal laws;
  2. Develop new Board policies as appropriate.


  1. Meet with district technology representatives to review technology needs and status of inventory.
  2. Review availability of technology for standardized testing and educational needs.
  3. Review practices used to ensure the safety and security of the district's digital information.

     School.  Connect with school administration and PTA to offer attendance at meetings or events when possible.
     Boards and Committees.  Attend meetings when possible to help keep the Board of Education informed of the activities of outside agencies.

     Debbie Leidlein, Chair
     Dan Delia
     Dan Cruson

Communication Committee 
     Dan Cruson, Chair
     Debbie Leidlein

Contract Negotiation Committee
      Michelle Embree Ku, Chair
      Debbie Leidlein
      Andy Clure

Curriculum and Instruction Committee
     John Vouros, Chair
     Michelle Embree Ku
Policy Committee
     Rebekah Harriman-Stites, Chair
     Dan Cruson
Technology Committee
     Andy Clure, Chair
     Dan Delia
NHS:  John Vouros
     NMS:  Michelle Embree Ku
     RIS:  Dan Delia
     HAW:  Rebekah Harriman-Stites
     HOM:  Dan Cruson
     MG:  Andy Clure
     SHS:  Debbie Leidlein

Boards and Committees
    NFT Culture and Climate Committee - Rebekah Harriman-Stites
    Para Culture and Climate Committee - John Vouros
    School-Based Health Center - Andy Clure
    District Safety and Security Team - Rebekah Harriman-Stites
    EdAdvance - Michelle Embree Ku
    Magnet School - Dan Delia
    Superintendent's Transportation Task Force - Michelle Embree Ku
Nondiscrimination Policy

WCAG 2.0 Compliance

Inspiring Each Student to Excel

3 Primrose St., Newtown, CT 06470
Phone: 203-426-7600